Circus Mirandus

Circus Mirandus

eBook - 2015
Average Rating:
8
2
1
Rate this:
A New York Times Book Review Notable Children's Book of 2015A New York Times Bestseller Fans of The Magician's Elephant, Savvy, and Roald Dahl will fall in love with Circus Mirandus, which celebrates the power of seeing magic in the world. Do you believe in magic? Micah Tuttle does. Even though his awful Great-Aunt Gertrudis doesn't approve, Micah believes in the stories his dying Grandpa Ephraim tells him of the magical Circus Mirandus: the invisible tiger guarding the gates, the beautiful flying birdwoman, and the magician more powerful than any other—the Man Who Bends Light. Finally, Grandpa Ephraim offers proof. The Circus is real. And the Lightbender owes Ephraim a miracle. With his friend Jenny Mendoza in tow, Micah sets out to find the Circus and the man he believes will save his grandfather. The only problem is, the Lightbender doesn't want to keep his promise. And now it's up to Micah to get the miracle he came for.
Publisher: 2015
ISBN: 9780698189065
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

JCLChrisK May 04, 2016

A book about finding magic and enchantment and courage both in the mundane moments of everyday life and during life's heartbreaking and tragic times.

1
1_Great_Book
Apr 07, 2016

What a delightful story on the power of believing and faith. Timeless and applicable to all age groups. It's up to you to interpret the message from a religious or magical lens; the end result is the same for both.
Through a child's eyes and simple faith, miracles occur. Not necessarily what was originally hoped for, but the actual result is the best one.
Will become a classic and a good choice for your collection.

b
black_dog_1835
Jan 05, 2016

I really could put myself in this character's shoes, and feel what it was like to be Micah. This is a great book about magic, love, and friendship. I would definitely recommend this book for you to read!!!

b
bibliokrisp
Oct 01, 2015

This just was too much like The Night Circus the Jr. Version for me. I wanted to feel closer to the 2 main characters but didn't, because they didn't feel real to me. Okay but not amazing.

Chapel_Hill_KrystalB Sep 14, 2015

This is a delightful, timeless story that will appeal widely to kids and adults alike. Beasley is a wonderful storyteller- loved the writing, loved the characters. Looking forward to her future works.

PimaLib_MaryG Sep 01, 2015

This is a marvelous book about the power of magic and seeing the world with a child's eye. I loved it.

c
carinmilburn
Aug 05, 2015

Well written. I think the back and forth between grandpa's story and Micah's, kinda slowed the suspense down. Loved the relationship between the grandpa and Micah.

m
marthabwaters
May 25, 2015

This is a pretty exemplary new book, and one that deserves a wide readership (which I think it will find). It's about a kid named Micah and his dying grandfather's tales of a magical circus. For the record, I almost never enjoy circus books, but this one is excellent; the magical elements are handled with a deft touch and the relationship between Micah and his grandfather is incredibly moving. It is a lovely story that takes a familiar children's book message -- the importance of faith and believing in magic -- and makes it feel fresh and new again. Highly recommended.

Age

Add Age Suitability

e
Erika_50
Aug 20, 2017

Erika_50 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 9 and 14

b
black_raven_237
Feb 17, 2017

black_raven_237 thinks this title is suitable for 8 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

e
Erika_50
Aug 21, 2017

Circus Mirandus is a circus you have to believe in to see.
Micah Tuttle goes to find The Man Who Bends Light to ask for the miracle he promised long ago to Micah's grandfather, who is dying.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at RPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top