Becoming Clementine

Becoming Clementine

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
For fans of Alan Furst and Sarah Blake, a spellbinding story of a secret mission and dangerous passion in World War II Paris, from the author of the New York Times bestsellers  Holding Up the Universe  and  All the Bright Places (soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning) . 

"An unforgettable tale of love, sacrifice, courage and compassion that will resonate with readers long after they finish the book." -- Chicago Tribune

After delivering a B-17 Flying Fortress to Britain, an American volunteers to copilot a plane carrying special agents to their drop spot over Normandy. Her personal mission: to find her brother, who is missing in action. After her plane is shot down, though, she's on the run for her life.


In Paris, the beautiful aviatrix Velva Jean Hart becomes Clementine Roux, a daring woman on an epic adventure with her team to capture an operative known only as "Swan." Once settled on Rue de la N#65533;va, Clementine works as a spy with the Resistance and finds herself falling in love with her fellow agent, #65533;mile, a handsome and mysterious Frenchman with secrets of his own. When Clementine ends up in the most brutal prison in Paris, trying to help #65533;mile and the team rescue Swan, she discovers the depths of human cruelty, the triumph of her own spirit, and the bravery of her team, who will stop at nothing to carry out their mission.


Readers of 22 Britannia Road, The Postmistress, and Suite Francaise will cherish Becoming Clementine --a romantic World War II adventure told from the perspective of a courageous and beautiful heroine. Niven is the author of the popular Velva Jean novels, including Velva Jean Learns to Drive and Velva Jean Learns to Fly.

Publisher: New York : Plume, 2012
ISBN: 9780452298101
0452298105
Branch Call Number: FICTION Niven 2012
Characteristics: xxi , 351p. ; 21cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

r
Roundcat
Dec 18, 2014

Previous books in this series take us from rural North Carolina social life, through Nashville city life in the 30's, and, in this book, the terrors of WWII both on the home front and in combat, focusing on the roles of women. Velva Jean's life takes a turn when, having flown a B-19 to Britain, she asks to stay in Britain and do non-combat flying, as she hopes to find her brother, Johnny Clay, who seems to have disappeared. She is assigned to flying a group of agents to France. They are shot down and Velva Jean manages to save a few of them, then sticks with them, although they try to leave her various places. She accompanies them to Paris and is left at a Resistance household, while they carry on with their assigned mission. Her adventures from there, include carrying messages, and being arrested and imprisoned. Her friend, Gossie, also plays a part in this fast paced novel. Velva Jean becomes Clementine Roux and by the end of the book has to deal with who she really is. I could hardly put it down.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at RPL.

Try searching for Becoming Clementine to see if RPL owns related versions of the work.


Suggest for Purchase

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top